I thought this looked too simple...

Oct 12, 2011 at 4:24 AM

Hi,

I'm new to WCF (and fairly new to Visual Studio) but have managed to created a server-side application that serves up a WSDL file.  However, my already-existing SOAP client doesn't seem to accept the WSDL file -- I think it's because the WSDL file has xsd:import statements, i.e. it's not flat.

So, I came across the WCFExtras part of CodePlex and, based on the "Using the code" section, I said "Great, I only have to add 13 lines of code to my app.config file and I'm done".  When I downloaded WCFExtras, it exploded into a complete Visual Studio solution with dozens of files!  My question is: What do I do with these files???  The "Using the code" section of CodePlex only says to add 13 lines to my app.config file.  Somehow, I don't think adding these 13 lines will do anything by itself.

I have my own Visual Studio project, of course, so it appears I have to somehow merge some number of files from CodePlex with my own files.  No clue how to do this.

Can someone provide the step-by-step process how to integrate the WCFExtra files into my own project (presuming that's what I should do)?  I *think* I'll need a fair amount of detail.  If the answer comes back as a one sentence generalization, for example, I don't think that will help.

Of course, if the merge *is* a complex process, the process would ideally be added to the WCFExtras documentation to benefit others.

Again, all I care about is flattening the WSDL file.  Thanks for any help anyone can provide!

Dave

Mar 7, 2013 at 3:03 PM
Edited Mar 7, 2013 at 3:03 PM
I know this is an old question, but thought I'd answer it for the benefit of anyone else looking. Here are my notes from just getting it working:
  1. Download WCFExtras from: http://wcfextras.codeplex.com/ and unpack the zip somewhere
  2. Reference the supplied bin/WCFExtras.dll from your project by right clicking References, clicking Add Reference and navigating to where you unzipped to.